Best Well Water Filtration Systems 2026, by Test Result
No whole-house well system we review has a certification listing, and only 85 of 325 NSF 58 RO systems are certified for nitrate. Match each test result to the right treatment.

Our Top Pick
SpringWell WS Whole-House Well Water Filter
The SpringWell WS is our top whole-house well water filter for iron and hydrogen sulfide. Air injection oxidation removes iron up to 8 ppm and sulfur up to 8 ppm without chemicals.
Pros
- Air injection oxidation for iron/sulfur
- Removes up to 8 ppm iron
- Self-backwashing — low maintenance
- Works without chemical additives
Cons
- Does not remove PFAS
- Well-water specific — not for city water
- Requires electrical connection for air pump
No One Tests Your Well Unless You Do
Private wells are not regulated under the Safe Drinking Water Act, and most states do not regulate them either. EPA puts it plainly: the owner is responsible for delivering safe drinking water. None of the whole-house or well water systems we review has an NSF, IAPMO or WQA reduction listing (checked September 2026). Your test report is the only evidence of what your water needs.
That changes how you buy. On city water you can pick a certified filter for a known problem. On a well you match each line of your test report to a treatment, then check that anything you drink from carries a certification listing for that contaminant by name.
What to Test For, and How Often
EPA recommends testing a private well every year for four things: total coliform bacteria, nitrates, total dissolved solids (TDS) and pH. Test right away, outside that schedule, when any of these happen:
- Flooding, land disturbance, new construction or industrial activity near the well
- Any repair or part replacement on the well system
- A change in the water's odor, color or taste
- Known groundwater problems in your area
EPA also suggests testing more often if small children or older adults live in the home, or if someone is pregnant or nursing. That annual panel does not include arsenic, uranium, radium, lead or PFAS. Your state health department can tell you which of those are known problems where you live.
The limit that decides the most
Only 4 States Require a Well Test When a Home Sells
We read the official well rules for all 50 states and Washington, DC on September 13, 2026. Four require a well test as part of a home sale: New Jersey, Rhode Island, Oregon and Maryland. In Maryland the buyer can waive the test in writing. Ten states say outright that they have no sale requirement. For the other 37, the official sources we found say nothing either way.
In 47 of 51 jurisdictions, then, no rule we found makes anyone test the well before you buy. If the test happens after closing, any treatment it calls for is already your bill. Put a well test contingency in the offer, and name the panel.
| State | What the sale rule requires | Law |
|---|---|---|
| New Jersey | Test as a condition of sale; closing waits until buyer and seller have reviewed results. Also applies to leases. | N.J.S.A. 58:12A-26 et seq.; N.J.A.C. 7:9E |
| Rhode Island | Test before sale or transfer. Buyers get a 10-day testing period and may void the agreement if results exceed limits. | R.I. Gen. Laws 23-1-5.3, 5-20.8-12; 216-RICR-50-05-2 |
| Oregon | Seller tests for arsenic, nitrates and total coliform bacteria after accepting an offer. | ORS 448.271 |
| Maryland | Contract must require the purchaser to have the well tested before settlement. The purchaser may waive it in writing. | Md. Code, Real Property 10-713 |
Fifteen states require a test after a new well is built. Thirteen name PFAS in their testing guidance, though New Jersey is the only one we found that requires a PFAS test. Eighteen run free or subsidized testing programs, many of them limited to certain counties, incomes or contaminants. Find your state below, then open its source.
All 50 states and DC: well testing rules
| State | Test at sale | Test for new wells | PFAS named | Free or subsidized testing | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Not stated | Not stated | No | Yes | Official page |
| Alaska | No | No | No | None found | Official page |
| Arizona | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | None found | Official page |
| Arkansas | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| California | Not stated | Not stated | No | Yes | Official page |
| Colorado | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Official page |
| Connecticut | No | Yes | No | None found | Official page |
| Delaware | Not stated | Not stated | No | Yes | Official page |
| District of Columbia | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| Florida | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| Georgia | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| Hawaii | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| Idaho | Not stated | Not stated | No | Yes | Official page |
| Illinois | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | None found | Official page |
| Indiana | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| Iowa | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | Official page |
| Kansas | No | No | No | Yes | Official page |
| Kentucky | Not stated | Yes | No | None found | Official page |
| Louisiana | Not stated | Yes | No | None found | Official page |
| Maine | Not stated | Not stated | No | Yes | Official page |
| Maryland | Yes | Yes | No | None found | Official page |
| Massachusetts | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | None found | Official page |
| Michigan | Not stated | Yes | No | None found | Official page |
| Minnesota | No | Yes | No | None found | Official page |
| Mississippi | Not stated | Yes | No | None found | Official page |
| Missouri | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| Montana | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| Nebraska | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| Nevada | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| New Hampshire | No | No | Yes | Yes | Official page |
| New Jersey | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Official page |
| New Mexico | Not stated | Not stated | No | Yes | Official page |
| New York | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Official page |
| North Carolina | Not stated | Yes | No | None found | Official page |
| North Dakota | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| Ohio | Not stated | Yes | No | None found | Official page |
| Oklahoma | No | No | No | None found | Official page |
| Oregon | Yes | Not stated | No | Yes | Official page |
| Pennsylvania | No | No | No | Yes | Official page |
| Rhode Island | Yes | Yes | Yes | None found | Official page |
| South Carolina | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Official page |
| South Dakota | Not stated | Yes | No | None found | Official page |
| Tennessee | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| Texas | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| Utah | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
| Vermont | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Official page |
| Virginia | No | Yes | No | None found | Official page |
| Washington | Not stated | Not stated | No | Yes | Official page |
| West Virginia | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | None found | Official page |
| Wisconsin | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Official page |
| Wyoming | Not stated | Not stated | No | None found | Official page |
Checked September 13, 2026 against state health, environment and legislative sources. “Not stated” means the official sources we found were silent, not that no rule exists. Some counties and towns set their own rules. Confirm with your county before you rely on it.
“NSF 58 Certified” Does Not Mean Certified for Nitrate
Reverse osmosis is the usual advice for nitrate and arsenic in well water. The certification behind that advice is narrower than most buyers assume. We downloaded NSF's full NSF/ANSI 58 directory on September 13, 2026 and counted the claims on each listed system. Membrane components sold on their own are excluded.
| Claim on the listing | Systems | Share of 325 |
|---|---|---|
| TDS reduction | 325 | 100% |
| Lead reduction | 129 | 39.7% |
| Fluoride reduction | 129 | 39.7% |
| Arsenic (pentavalent) reduction | 122 | 37.5% |
| Radium 226/228 reduction | 122 | 37.5% |
| Nitrate reduction | 85 | 26.2% |
Source: NSF/ANSI 58 listings, 325 systems from 55 companies, downloaded September 13, 2026. IAPMO and WQA also certify to NSF/ANSI 58; they do not publish a comparable count, so these shares cover NSF's directory only.
Every listed system is certified to reduce TDS. Only about one in four is certified for nitrate. A reverse osmosis system with a real NSF 58 certificate can still carry no nitrate claim at all, and the box usually shows the same mark either way.
Arsenic has a second catch. All 122 arsenic claims in the directory are for pentavalent arsenic. None covers trivalent arsenic. The listings carry a footnote limiting the product to water “shown to be at or below the referenced concentration and valency of arsenic.” A report that gives only a total arsenic number does not tell you whether that claim applies to your water.
What to do with this
Match Each Test Result to a Treatment Type
Read your report one line at a time. The benchmark column is EPA's number. For a private well it is a reference point, not a legal duty, because the limits bind public water systems.
| Result on your report | EPA benchmark | Treatment type | What to check before buying |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coliform or E. coli present | Coliform is an indicator; EPA goal is zero | Find the source first (health department), then disinfection such as UV | Retest after any fix. UV does not remove chemicals. |
| Nitrate | 10 mg/L as nitrogen (infant health) | Point-of-use reverse osmosis or another nitrate-certified system | The listing names nitrate. About 1 in 4 NSF 58 systems do. |
| Arsenic | 0.010 mg/L | Point-of-use reverse osmosis or another arsenic-certified system | The listing names the arsenic form your lab reported. |
| Lead | Action level 0.015 mg/L; health goal zero | Point-of-use filter certified for lead | The listing names lead. |
| Uranium | 30 µg/L | Point-of-use treatment certified for uranium | None of the 325 NSF 58 systems we counted carried a uranium claim. Ask your health department. |
| Radium 226/228 | 5 pCi/L combined | Point-of-use reverse osmosis certified for radium | The listing names radium. |
| Iron | 0.3 mg/L (secondary, not enforceable) | Whole-house iron or oxidation filter | Staining and taste problem. Treat before other whole-house stages. |
| Manganese | 0.05 mg/L (secondary, not enforceable) | Whole-house iron or oxidation filter | Same stage as iron. |
| TDS above 500 mg/L | 500 mg/L (secondary, not enforceable) | Point-of-use reverse osmosis for drinking water | Every NSF 58 system is certified for TDS. |
| pH outside 6.5 to 8.5 | 6.5 to 8.5 (secondary, not enforceable) | Neutralizer (low pH) or professional advice (high pH) | Low pH means corrosive water. Test for lead and copper too. |
Benchmarks: EPA National Primary Drinking Water Regulations (updated August 31, 2026) and EPA secondary standards (updated May 26, 2026).
Put the Stages in the Right Order
A whole-house well system is a series of stages. Each one protects the next, so order matters. Most wells need only some of these. Your test report tells you which.
- 1
Sediment filter
Catches sand and grit that clog every stage after it.
- 2
Iron and manganese treatment
Only if your report is over the secondary levels above. It goes before softening and carbon, which iron fouls.
- 3
Water softener
Only if hardness causes scale or appliance problems. It comes after iron removal.
- 4
Carbon filter
Reduces taste, odor and some organic chemicals.
- 5
UV disinfection
Only if bacteria are a problem. It needs clear water, so it sits after the filters.
- 6
Point-of-use system at the kitchen tap
For contaminants you drink rather than bathe in: nitrate, arsenic, lead, radium, PFAS. This is where certification listings matter most.
What the Systems We Review Are Certified For
We checked every system we review against the NSF, IAPMO and WQA directories on September 13, 2026. The result splits cleanly by where the system is installed.
Whole-house and well systems
SpringWell WS, SpringWell CF1, Aquasana Rhino Well Water, Aquasana Rhino EQ-1000 and Pelican PC600. We found no reduction listing for any of them. Choose among them on what your report shows (iron, sulfur smell, sediment, flow rate) and on price. Do not rely on any of them for a health contaminant.
Point-of-use systems with listings
Waterdrop G3P800 is listed by IAPMO under NSF/ANSI 58 for lead, fluoride, TDS, cadmium, barium and radium, and under 53 for PFOA/PFOS. Aquasana AQ-5300+ is listed by WQA under NSF/ANSI 53 for lead and PFOA/PFOS. Neither listing names nitrate, arsenic or uranium.
The gap in our own catalog
After shock chlorination, flush before you drink
Your Next Steps, In Order
- Look up your state in the table above, then call your state or county health department. Ask which contaminants are common locally.
- Buying a home with a well: put a well test contingency in the offer unless your state already requires one.
- Order a test from a state-certified lab: coliform, nitrate, TDS and pH at minimum, plus anything the health department names.
- If arsenic appears, ask the lab whether it can report the arsenic form.
- Fix bacteria at the source and retest before buying drinking-water equipment.
- Size whole-house stages to your report, in the order above.
- For each contaminant you drink, buy a point-of-use system whose listing names it. Check the listing yourself.
- Retest every year, and after any flood, repair or change in the water.
Sources
- EPA: Private Drinking Water Wells (updated August 25, 2026)
- EPA: Protect Your Home's Water (updated February 26, 2026)
- EPA: National Primary Drinking Water Regulations (updated August 31, 2026)
- EPA: Secondary Drinking Water Standards (updated May 26, 2026)
- NSF: NSF/ANSI 58 Drinking Water Treatment Unit listings (downloaded September 13, 2026)
- IAPMO and WQA certified product directories, checked September 13, 2026, for the systems we review
- State well testing rules: official state health, environment and legislative pages for all 50 states and DC, linked in the table above (checked September 13, 2026)
